Drug abuse

Tetanus

From 1987 to 2008, 13% of tetanus cases and 29% of tetanus deaths occurred in people sick with diabetes. Diabetics suffer from tetanus three times more often than the rest, and die four times more often. 15% of tetanus cases occur in intravenous drug users.
Even if one were to assume that tetanus antibodies effectively neutralize the toxin, they would still need to get to the place of injury. And if the injury were to occur in a place with no sufficient blood supply, antibodies would not be able to get there. This is why diabetics suffer from tetanus much more often.

Tetanus

Tetanus Despite Preexisting Antitetanus Antibody. 1978, Berger, JAMA

Since 1955, 90% of tetanus cases in New York were heroin addicts. Same in Chicago.
A case of brother and sister who got tetanus from heroin is described here. The brother had a severe form of tetanus and the sister had a mild one. They both recovered – the brother in three weeks and the sister in two weeks. Since the sister received the vaccine 15 years ago, the authors concluded that was the reason she got the mild form. They also concluded that the brother was most likely never vaccinated, and that is why he got severe tetanus, although his antibodies level was never tested, and if he was ever vaccinated remained unclear.

Tetanus

Tetanus: A rare and preventable cause of death among drug users and the elderly. 1996, Sangalli, Eur J Epidemiol

From 1984 to 1994, 40 people died of tetanus in the Lazio region in Italy (population of 5.1 million). 48% of them were elderly people, and among the younger ones, mostly intravenous drug users died. In the age group of under 30 years old, no death were recorded. Among those who were not drug users, only one person under the age of 40 died, and two more people under the age of 50. The risk of death in elderly people was 27 times higher, in farmers – 167 times higher, and in drug users – 186 times higher.

Tetanus

Tetanus in Injecting Drug Users, United Kingdom. 2006, Hahné, Emerg Infect Dis

Until 2003, tetanus was a rare disease in Great Britain, and mostly happened among the elderly. After 2003, drug users began to get infected with tetanus. In 2003, there were 35 cases of tetanus, and two of them died. The authors researched for common factors and found out that they got sick from infected heroin from Liverpool. The authors urge the doctors and prison staff to vaccinate drug users.

Tetanus

Tetanus in Injecting Drug Users. 2005, Beeching, BMJ

Cases of tetanus in drug users were already described in Victorian era. They injected morphine under the skin then.
In Chicago, in the ‘50s, before the vaccination began, most patients were heroin addicts. Out of the 22 cases of tetanus, 12 were drug users, and they all died. Only four of the rest died. CDC reports that 55% of tetanus cases in California were intravenous drug users.
It is reported here that five out of five tetanus patients in three years in Saudi Arabia, were heroin addicts.

Наркомания

Столбняк

С 1987 по 2008 год 13% случаев столбняка и 29% смертности от столбняка приходятся на больных диабетом. Диабетики болеют столбняком в 3 раза чаще остальных, а умирают в 4 раза чаще. 15% случаев столбняка приходится на внутривенных наркоманов.
Даже если предположить, что столбнячные антитела эффективно нейтрализуют токсин, они ведь еще должны добраться до места травмы. А если травма произошла там, где нет достаточного кровяного снабжения, антитела туда не доберутся, не говоря уже о том, что кровь содержит кислород, который нейтрализует бактерии. По этой причине диабетики болеют столбняком намного чаще.

Столбняк

Tetanus Despite Preexisting Antitetanus Antibody. 1978, Berger, JAMA

С 1955 года, 90% заболевших столбняком в Нью Йорке - это героиновые наркоманы. В Чикаго тоже.
Здесь описывается случай брата и сестры, заболевших столбняком от героина. У брата была тяжелая форма столбняка, а у сестры легкая. Оба выздоровели - брат через 3 недели, а сестра через две недели. Поскольку сестре 15 лет назад сделали прививку, авторы заключили, что из-за этого она болела легкой формой. Они заключали также, что брат, скорее всего, привит не был, и поэтому болел тяжело, хотя уровень антител у них не проверяли, и был ли привит брат осталось неясным.

Столбняк

Tetanus: A rare but preventable cause of mortality among drug users and the elderly. 1996, Sangalli, Eur J Epidemiol

С 1984 по 1994-й год 40 человек умерли от столбняка в области Лацио в Италии (население 5.1 млн). Из них 48% составляли пожилые люди, а среди людей помоложе умирали в основном внутривенные наркоманы. В возрастной группе до 30 лет не было зарегистрировано ни одной смерти. Среди тех, кто не был наркоманом умер лишь один человек моложе 40 лет, и еще два человека моложе 50 лет. Риск смерти пожилого человека был в 27 раз выше, фермера - в 167 раз выше, а наркомана в 186 раз выше.

Столбняк

Tetanus in Injecting Drug Users, United Kingdom. 2006, Hahné, Emerg Infect Dis

До 2003 года столбняк лишь изредка встречался в Великобритании, в основном лишь среди пожилых. После 2003 года столбняком начали болеть наркоманы. В 2003 было 35 случаев столбняка, из них двое умерли. Авторы исследовали, что между ними общего, и обнаружили, что они заболели из-за зараженного героина из Ливерпуля. Авторы призывают врачей и тюремный персонал прививать наркоманов.

Столбняк

Tetanus in Injecting Drug Users. 2005, Beeching, BMJ

Столбняк у наркоманов был описан еще в викторианскую эпоху. Тогда они кололи под кожу морфин.
В Чикаго, еще в 50-е годы, до того как начали прививать, большинство больных были героиновые наркоманы. Из 22-х случаев болезни, 12 были наркоманы, и все умерли. Среди остальных раненых умерли лишь четверо.
CDC сообщает, что 55% заболевших столбняком в Калифорнии были внутривенные наркоманы.
Здесь сообщается, что в больнице в Саудовской Аравии пять из пяти заболевших столбняком за три года были героиновыми наркоманами.