Pancreatitis

Mumps

Waning immunity against mumps in vaccinated young adults, France 2013. 2016, Vygen, Euro Surveill

In 2013, 15 mumps outbreaks were registered in France. 72% of the cases had been vaccinated twice. The effectiveness of the vaccine was 49% for one dose and 55% for two doses.
Among those who had been vaccinated once, the risk of getting mumps increased by 7% for every year that had passed since the vaccination.
Among those who had been vaccinated twice, the risk of getting mumps increased by 10% for every year that had passed after the second dose.
Orchitis was observed in five men. One of them was unvaccinated, two had been vaccinated with one dose, and another two had been vaccinated twice.
Mumps is a mild disease, which passes on its own, but sometimes it can cause severe complications, such as orchitis, meningitis, pancreatitis or encephalitis, especially in adults. Complications from mumps are observed more often in adults and they are more severe than in children, especially among the unvaccinated.
In other countries, mumps outbreaks are also observed among the vaccinated. The reason for this is the decreasing effectiveness of the vaccine and the lack of natural boosters. Other reasons for the outbreaks could be the initial overestimation of the vaccine effectiveness, insufficient vaccination coverage, or existence of a strain that is not covered by the vaccine.
Outbreaks occurring among the vaccinated and the decreasing effectiveness, both lead to thoughts about a third dose of the vaccine. This kind of an experiment was conducted in the US during the outbreaks in 2009 and 2010. Both times the outbreak subsided a few weeks after the administration of the vaccine. However, the outbreaks always subside at some point, so it was unclear whether it had anything to do with the vaccination. Nonetheless, this and other experiments hint that a third dose of the vaccine might not be a bad idea. Moreover, during the vaccination campaigns in the US, the third dose had few side effects.
They wanted to introduce a third dose of MMR into the national immunization schedule in Netherlands, but changed their mind, since mumps rarely causes complications, and the vaccination coverage among adults is unlikely to be satisfactory.
Mumps outbreaks among the vaccinated, along with this study, led the Ministry of Health of France to recommend a third dose of MMR at times of outbreaks. Even though it is unknown whether the vaccine is effective for those already infected with the virus, it is quite possible that the vaccine will cause a decrease in the contagious period of the vaccinated patients.
The Dutch study determined that two thirds of cases during outbreaks are asymptomatic. The role of asymptomatic patients in the transmission of the disease remains unknown.
Future observations in France, and possibly other countries that would adopt the same recommendation, will help determine whether the third dose of MMR is effective during outbreaks.

Панкреатит

Свинка

Waning immunity against mumps in vaccinated young adults, France 2013. 2016, Vygen, Euro Surveill

В 2013-м году во Франции было зарегистрировано 15 вспышек свинки. 72% заболевших были привиты два раза. Эффективность вакцины составляла 49% для одной дозы, и 55% для двух доз.
Среди тех, кто были привиты один раз, с каждым прошедшим годом после прививки риск заболеть свинкой повышался на 7%.
Среди тех, кто были привиты два раза, с каждым прошедшим годом после прививки риск заболеть свинкой повышался на 10%.
У пяти мужчин наблюдался орхит. Один был непривит, двое привиты одной дозой, и двое привиты дважды.
Свинка это мягкая болезнь, которая проходит сама по себе, но иногда может привести к серьёзным осложнениям, такие как орхит, менингит, панкреатит или энцефалит, особенно среди взрослых. У взрослых осложнения от свинки наблюдаются чаще, и эти осложнения более серьёзные, чем у детей. Особенно среди непривитых.
В других странах также наблюдаются вспышки свинки среди привитых. Причина этого состоит в уменьшающейся эффективности вакцины, и в отсутствии натуральных бустеров. Возможно, также, что в вспышках виновата изначально завышенная эффективность, недостаточный охват вакцинации или наличие штамма, который не покрывается вакциной.
Наличие вспышек среди привитых, и падающая эффективность заставляют задуматься о третьей дозе вакцины. Такой  эксперимент проводился в США во время вспышек в 2009 и 2010 годах. Оба раза вспышка пошла на убыль через несколько недель после вакцинации. Однако вспышки всегда идут на убыль, и непонятно, было ли это связано с вакциной. Тем не менее, этот и другие эксперименты намекают, что третья доза вакцины это неплохая идея. Кроме того, во время кампаний вакцинации в США третьей дозой наблюдалось мало побочных эффектов.
В Нидерландах хотели ввести третью дозу MMR в национальный календарь прививок, но передумали, поскольку во-первых, от свинки редко возникают осложнения, а во-вторых, вряд ли охват вакцинации среди взрослых будет удовлетворительным.
Вспышки свинки среди привитых, а также это исследование, привели к тому, что министерство здравоохранения Франции рекомендовало делать третью дозу MMR во время вспышек. Несмотря на то, что неизвестно, эффективна ли вакцина для тех, кто уже заражен вирусом, вполне возможно, что вакцинация приведет к сокращению периода заразности привитого.
В голландском исследовании было установлено, что две трети болеют во время вспышек бессимптомно. Роль бессимптомных больных в передачи заболевания остается неизвестной.
Будущие наблюдения во Франции, а возможно также и в других странах, которые примут подобную рекомендацию, помогут определить, является ли третья доза MMR эффективной во время вспышек.