Fetal bovine serum

Mumps

The use of fetal bovine serum: ethical or scientific problem? 2002, Jochems, Altern Lab Anim

One of the MMR components (and some other vaccines) is fetal bovine serum. Cells, in which the virus is grown, need to multiply. To do so, they need a nutrient medium with hormones, growth factors, proteins, amino acids, vitamins, etc. Fetal bovine serum is usually used as this medium. Since the serum should preferably be sterile, the blood of calves' fetuses is used instead of the cow’s blood.
A pregnant cow is killed and the uterus is removed. Then the fetus is removed from the uterus, the umbilical cord is cut and disinfected. After that the heart is punctured with a needle and the blood is pumped out. Sometimes a pump is used for this, sometimes a massage. After the blood coagulates, platelets and coagulation factors are separated from it by centrifugation. Fetal bovine serum is what remains as a result.
Apart form the necessary components, the serum can also contain viruses, bacteria, yeast, fungi, mycoplasmas, endotoxins, and possibly prions. Many components of bovine serum have not yet been identified, and the function of many of the identified ones is unknown.
150 ml of serum can be collected from a three months old fetus, 350 ml from a six month old, and 550 ml from a nine month old fetus. (Cows’ pregnancy lasts 9 months). The global market for bovine serum is 500,000 liters every year, which requires approximately 2 million pregnant cows. (Currently, the serum market is already 700,000 liters).

The authors then go on to analyze the literature on the subject of whether the fetus suffers when its heart is punctured and its blood is pumped out.
Since the fetus experiences anoxia (an acute oxygen deficiency) when separated from the placenta, perhaps it could prevent the pain signals from reaching the brain, and the fetus might not suffer. However, it turns out that, unlike adult rabbits, who die of anoxia within 1.5 minutes, prematurely born rabbits can live without oxygen for 44 minutes. This happens because fetuses and newborns compensate for oxygen deficiency with anaerobic metabolism. Moreover, fetal brain consumes much less oxygen than adult brain. Other species of animals show similar results, but calves have never been examined specifically.
Science has only recently raised the issue of whether a mammal’s fetus or newborn feels pain. Just ten years ago, infants were believed to be less sensitive to pain than adults, which is why surgeries on premature and full-term infants were performed without anesthesia. Today, it is believed that human fetus can feel pain as early as 24th week of pregnancy, and can suffer starting from week 11 after conception. Moreover, fetuses and newborns are more sensitive to pain than adults, since they have not yet developed a mechanism for suppressing physiological pain. Therefore, a fetus can even feel pain form a simple touch.
The authors conclude that normal brain activity is observed in fetus when its heart is being punctured, it feels pain and suffers when the blood is pumped out, and maybe even after the procedure, until it dies.
The authors then discuss whether it is possible to anesthetize the fetus, so that it would not feel pain. Some believe that anoxia itself plays a role of anesthetic, but that is not the case. In addition, newborn mammals have poor capacity to metabolize drugs. Also, it is undesirable to have these drugs in the serum. Electrical stunning cannot be used either, since it causes cardiac arrest. The authors believe that, perhaps, a bolt, appropriately stunned into the brain, would induce brain death.
Some manufacturers claim that they kill the fetus before harvesting blood, but that is not true, since the blood clots right after death, and to collect it the fetus must be alive.
The authors conclude that the procedure of harvesting the fetal bovine serum is inhumane.

Mumps

Benefits and expenses due to animal serum used in cell culture production. 1999, Wessman, Dev Biol Stand

20-50% of fetal bovine serum is infected with bovine viral diarrhea virus, as well as other viruses.
We are talking only about the viruses known to science, which constitute only a small fraction of all the existing viruses.

Mumps

Fetal Bovine Serum RNA Interferes with the Cell Culture derived Extracellular RNA. 2016, Wei, Sci Rep

Fetal bovine serum contains extracellular RNA, which is impossible to separate from the serum. This RNA interacts with human cells RNA, in which vaccine viruses are grown.

Mumps

Evidence of pestivirus RNA in human virus vaccines. 1994, Harasawa, J Clin Microbiol

The authors examined five types of live vaccines and detected bovine viral diarrhea virus RNA in MMR vaccines of two different manufacturers, as well as in two monovalent vaccines against mumps and rubella, which most likely got there from fetal bovine serum.
In infants, this virus might cause gastroenteritis, and in pregnant women, it might lead to the birth of children with microcephaly.

Mumps

Viral contamination of bovine foetal serum and cell cultures. 1977, Nuttall, Nature

The fact that fetal bovine serum is infected with the bovine viral diarrhea virus was known already in 1977. It is known that this virus passes through placenta and can infect the calf fetus in the uterus. 60% of serum samples in Australia were contaminated with the virus. 8% of the vaccines against Bovine Rhinotracheitis were also contaminated.
The virus was also found in bovine kidney cells, which are used in production of measles vaccine.

Эмбриональная бычья сыворотка

Свинка

The use of fetal bovine serum: ethical or scientific problem? 2002, Jochems, Altern Lab Anim

Одним из компонентов MMR (и некоторых других вакцин) является эмбриональная бычья сыворотка. Клетки, в которых выращивают вирусы, должны размножаться, и для этого им нужна питательная среда с гормонами, факторами роста, белками, аминокислотами, витаминами и т.д. В качестве этой среды обычно используют эмбриональную бычью сыворотку.
Поскольку сыворотка должна быть желательно стерильной, для ее производства используют не кровь коров, а кровь зародышей телят.
Беременную корову убивают, и вынимают из неё матку. Затем плод вынимают из матки, отрезают пуповину и дезинфицируют. После этого плоду протыкают сердце и выкачивают кровь. Иногда для этого используют насос, а иногда массаж. Потом кровь сворачивается и посредством центрифугирования из нее отделяют тромбоциты и факторы свертывания. То, что остается в результате это и есть эмбриональная бычья сыворотка.
Кроме нужных компонентов, сыворотка также может содержать вирусы, бактерии, дрожжи, грибки, микоплазмы, эндотоксины и возможно прионы. Многие компоненты бычьей сыворотки еще не определены, а функция многих их тех, что определены - неизвестна.
Из трехмесячного зародыша вырабатывается 150 мл сыворотки, из шестимесячного - 350 мл, а из девятимесячного - 550 мл. (Беременность коров длится 9 месяцев). Мировой рынок бычьей сыворотки составляет 500,000 литров в год, для чего требуются примерно 2 миллиона беременных коров. (На данный момент рынок сыворотки составляет уже 700,000 литров).

Далее авторы исследуют литературу на тему того, страдает ли плод во время того, как ему протыкают сердце и выкачивают кровь.
Поскольку плод, которого отделяют от плаценты испытывает аноксию (острый недостаток кислорода), возможно это приводит к тому, что сигналы боли не доходят до мозга, и плод не страдает.
Однако, оказывается, что в отличие от взрослых кроликов, которые умирают уже через 1.5 минуты аноксии, преждевременно рождённые кролики живут без кислорода 44 минуты. Это происходит потому, что зародыши и новорожденные компенсируют недостаток кислорода посредством анаэробного метаболизма. Кроме того, мозг плода потребляет намного меньше кислорода, чем взрослый мозг. Среди других видов животных наблюдается похожая картина, однако именно телят никто не исследовал.
Наука лишь недавно задалась вопросом, испытывает ли плод млекопитающего или новорожденный боль. Всего десять лет назад считалось, что младенцы менее чувствительны к боли, чем взрослые, поэтому операции недоношенным и рожденным в срок младенцам делали без анестезии. Сегодня считается, что человеческий плод испытывает боль начиная с 24-й недели, и может страдать начиная с 11-й недели после зачатия. Более того, эмбрионы и новорожденные более чувствительны к боли, чем взрослые, поскольку у них еще не развит механизм подавления физиологической боли. Поэтому плод может испытывать боль даже если к нему просто прикасаются.
Авторы заключают, что во время протыкания сердца у плода наблюдается нормальная мозговая активность, он испытывает боль, и страдает, когда из него выкачивают кровь, а возможно и после окончания этой процедуры, до того, как умирает.
Далее авторы рассуждают, можно ли анестезировать плод, чтобы он не чувствовал боли. Некоторые полагают, что аноксия сама по себе играет роль анестетика, но это не так. Кроме того, новорожденные млекопитающие очень плохо усваивают лекарства. Да и наличие самих этих лекарств в сыворотке нежелательно. Электрошок тоже не подходит, так как приводит к остановке сердца. Авторы считают, что возможно болт, правильным образом забитый в мозг, приведет к мозговой смерти плода.
Некоторые производители утверждают, что они убивают плод до того, как извлечь из него кровь. Но это неправда, поскольку кровь сворачивается сразу после смерти, и чтобы ее извлечь, плод должен быть живой.
Авторы заключают, что процедура сбора эмбриональной бычьей сыворотки негуманна.

Свинка

Benefits and risks due to animal serum used in cell culture production. 1999, Wessman, Dev Biol Stand

20-50% эмбриональной бычьей сыворотки заражено вирусом диареи крупного рогатого скота, а также другими вирусами.
Речь идет лишь об известных науке вирусах, которые составляют лишь незначительную часть всех существующих вирусов.

Свинка

Fetal Bovine Serum RNA Interferes with the Cell Culture derived Extracellular RNA. 2016, Wei, Sci Rep

Эмбриональная бычья сыворотка содержит внеклеточную РНК, которую невозможно от сыворотки отделить. Эта РНК взаимодействует с РНК человеческих клеток, в которых выращивают вирусы для вакцин.

Свинка

Evidence of pestivirus RNA in human virus vaccines. 1994, Harasawa, J Clin Microbiol

Авторы проанализировали 5 видов живых вакцин, и обнаружили в вакцинах MMR двух разных производителей, а также в двух моновалентных вакцинах от свинки и от краснухи РНК вируса диареи крупного рогатого скота, который, вероятно, попал туда из эмбриональной бычьей сыворотки.
У младенцев этот вирус возможно приводит к гастроэнтериту, а у беременных женщин - к рождению детей с микроцефалией.

Свинка

Viral contamination of bovine foetal serum and cell cultures. 1977, Nuttall, Nature

То, что эмбриональная бычья сыворотка заражена вирусом диареи крупного рогатого скота, было известно еще в 1977-м году. Известно, что этот вирус проходит через плаценту и может заражать эмбрион теленка в матке. 60% проб сыворотки в Австралии были заражены вирусом. 8% вакцин от ринотрахеита крупного рогатого скота также были заражены.
Вирус обнаружился также в коровьих почечных клетках, которые используются для производства вакцины от кори.