Neonatal tetanus

Tetanus

Tetanus of immunized children. 1993, Luisto, Dev Med Child Neurol

In 17 years from 1969 to 1985 in Finland, 106 cases of tetanus have been recorded. Five of them were children under 18 years of age. Four children have been fully vaccinated. Whether the fifth child has been vaccinated is unknown.
The last case of neonatal tetanus in Finland was recorded in 1915, and vaccination started in 1957.

Tetanus

One of the types of tetanus in neonatal tetanus. It barely occurs in developed countries. Its cause is the infection of the baby through the umbilical cord, upon non-sterile cutting.
Instead of raising the level of hygiene during childbirth, handing out hydrogen peroxide to pregnant women and teaching them not to cut the umbilical cord with rusted scissors, WHO, of course, chose a different strategy – mass vaccination of pregnant women in third world countries.

Tetanus

Neonatal tetanus anti-immunization and protective antitoxin antibody. 1995, de Moraes-Pinto, J Infect Dis

20 babies got admitted into a hospital in Nigeria with neonatal tetanus. Mothers of six of them have been vaccinated with at least two doses of the vaccine during pregnancy. All mothers and babies, including the unvaccinated ones, had the antibodies at a much higher than the protective level (0.07 IU/ml and above). Mortality rate among unvaccinated was 43%. Mortality rate among vaccinated was 50%.
However, there also exists a study proving that 2-3 vaccines during pregnancy significantly reduce the incidence of neonatal tetanus.

Tetanus

Neonatal tetanus despite protective serum antitoxin concentration. 1991, Maselle, FEMS Microbiol Immunol.

10 newborns with tetanus in Tanzania. Mothers of all but one have been vaccinated during pregnancy. The level of antibodies of nine of them was above the protective level. The mother of the tenth baby was vaccinated two weeks before giving birth.
Two babies had antibodies levels 100 and 400 times higher than the protective level. The mother of one of them received 14 vaccines during five of her pregnancies; the other mother received six vaccines in the last three years. The baby whose mother was not vaccinated had the level of antibodies three times above the protective level.
The authors conclude that there is no such thing as ‘protective level of antibodies.’

Столбняк новорожденных

Столбняк

Tetanus of immunized children. 1993, Luisto, Dev Med Child Neurol

В Финляндии за 17 лет с 1969 по 1985 год было зарегистрировано 106 случаев столбняка, из них пятеро детей до 18 лет. Четверо детей были полностью привиты. Был ли привит пятый - неизвестно.
Последний случай столбняка новорожденных в Финляндии был зарегистрирован в 1915 году, а вакцинация была начата в 1957-ом.

Столбняк

Одним из видов столбняка является столбняк новорожденных. Он практически не встречается в развитых странах. Его причина это заражение младенца через пуповину, при нестерильном ее перерезании.
Вместо того, чтобы повысить уровень гигиены во время родов, раздать беременным пузырьки перекиси водорода, и научить их не перерезать пуповину ржавыми ножницами, ВОЗ, разумеется, выбралa другую стратегию - поголовная вакцинация беременных женщин в странах третьего мира.

Столбняк

Neonatal tetanus despite immunization and protective antitoxin antibody. 1995, de Moraes-Pinto, J Infect Dis

Двадцать младенцев поступили в больницу в Нигерии со столбняком новорожденных. Матери шестерых были привиты во время беременности как минимум двумя дозами. У всех матерей и младенцев, включая непривитых, уровень антител был намного выше защитного (0.07 и выше). Смертность среди непривитых составляла 43%. Смертность среди привитых составляла 50%.
Однако существует также исследование доказывающее, что 2-3 прививки во время беременности значительно снижают случаи столбняка новорожденных.

Столбняк

Neonatal tetanus despite protective serum antitoxin concentration. 1991, Maselle, FEMS Microbiol Immunol.

Десять новорожденных со столбняком в Танзании. Матери всех, кроме одного, были привиты во время беременности. Уровень антител у девяти из них был выше "защитного" уровня. Мать десятого была привита за две недели до родов.
У двух младенцев уровень антител был в 100 и 400 раз выше защитного уровня. Мать одного из них получила 14 прививок во время своих пяти беременностей, вторая получила шесть за последние три года. У того младенца, мать которого никогда не была привита, уровень антител был в три раза выше защитного уровня.
Авторы заключают, что не существует такого понятия, как "защитный уровень антител".